At the bleeding edge – the brave new world of EMRs

Today I had the privilege of being the very first doctor at my hospital to see a patient, document the visit (including a history and exam), write a note to the referring doctor, and complete my billing, using our new electronic medical record.

The build up to our new system has been over many months. Behind the scenes our IT dept has done its leg work, negotiations, analyses, and picked out what it hopes will be the best solution for us moving forward.

To be fair, we’ve had a semi-EMR already – a hodge-podge of software systems that barely talk to each other and seemed to have near-daily issues or crashes. My dictated visit notes were in one system, labs were in another, x rays in yet a third – and paper charts to top it off.

Not any more.

The new system will, eventually, replace all of this – and more. Our scheduling software is integrated, billing is integrated, all results are there alongside (indeed linked to) the visit they were ordered at, and every subspecialty will see what every other speciality does, including inpatient wards and the ER. Prescriptions will be faxed to pharmacies. Patients will be able to access their records online. It will be awesome.

There is, however, a learning curve. It’s not only a new software package after all, in many respects it’s an entirely new way of thinking and operating. For some Docs their work flow will be significantly altered, but it’s a fairly flexible system. It can handle point-and-click note creation, semi-structured “smart texts” which pull in data from the record, free-text typing, dictation – or even a mix of everything. As with most new roll-outs, our patient flow has been cut by 50% during the initial phase to cope with this learning curve. And I’ll freely admit that my first couple of appointments probably took about double the time I would have taken normally.

But let’s step back for a second. Really double the time? Really? What did I accomplish in that time? I completed my normal encounter (ignoring the computer except where necessary – I’m a patient-centered doc after all…) and then caught up with the software afterwards, transferring my scribbled notes into legible text and button toggles. I wrote my note. I wrote a prescription. I sent myself a reminder to call the family with the results of a lab test. I printed off a visit summary to give to the parents. Under the guidance of one of the “Super User” support staff I created a “new communication” to the kid’s pediatrician, linked my visit note, and faxed off a reply to the consultation. I selected a diagnosis and level of service, and with a click closed the encounter down.

I didn’t have to dictate a note.

I didn’t have to edit a note.

The pediatrician didn’t have to wait for me to dictate and edit a note – they had a copy of my recommendations at the office before the patient had left the building.

I didn’t have to flick through billing sheets, sign off on “problems lists” or “medication reconciliation logs”. I was all done with a click of a mouse.

It wasn’t extra time, it was reallocated time, time invested up front that saved me a ton of hassle later on. And as my learning curve moves up and I get faster at pulling down labs, creating smarttexts, macros and shortcuts this little beauty will truly save me time, AND provide better care for the patient.

Were there hiccups today? Of course, it’s a new system, but they had allocated sufficient personnel, expertise, resources and training into minimizing the problems and rapidly producing solutions.

A EMR is a tool – we still need our hands, our eyes, ears, stethoscopes and brains (and hearts…) to practice medicine effectively, but used properly something like this will only enhance what we can accomplish.

We entered a brave new world today, and I was the one to plant my feet in the sand before anyone else. It felt a little crunchy between the toes, but you know – I’ll have time to paddle in the surf later on.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

