An explanation

After a long hiatus, I guess I’m back to blogging. Why? You may ask. Or you may not, but I’m going to tell you anyway.

After spending a good portion of the past year or more on Twitter, I have found that (a) some people actually are interested in what I have to say and (b) Twitter has it’s limitations in how I get to say it. Sometimes nothing beats a good old fashioned diary entry.

That’s why I’m here. But why not just resurrect the old site, aidsmyth.blogspot.com? I guess because it had a limited remit, and I’ve wandered off from that track a bit. I’ll still throw up anti-AIDS-denialist stuff, but the anti-vaccine movement is rather closer to home for me right now as well as my other professional interests in antibiotic overuse.

The other thing I spend my time doing is practicing and teaching patient-centred care – the idea that medicine should take into account patient fears, ideas and expectations. Now I can pass comment more fully on what are often complex issues, that a simple re-tweet or Twitter-rant can’t fully do justice to.

Hence the title of the blog, a double-meaning combining aspects of both infectious disease and patient-centered care. Culture. Sensitivity. Geddit?

  1. #1 by Beth on August 6, 2011 - 19:04

    Welcome back to blogging!

Leave a Reply

